About T86RS

The series commenced in 2016 and is currently contracted to run until at least the end of 2020. Two invited professional drivers will compete against a potential field of more than 35 drivers, mentored by one full-time dedicated motorsport expert. Races share billing in selected Supercars rounds and have been sanctioned by the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS). Like similar one-make series races, the Toyota 86 Racing Series demands competitors adhere to a strict car setup, ensuring that driver talent, rather than team budget, is key to winning.

The front engine, rear-wheel drive 86 is ideally suited to close racing due to its superb handling, with expected maximum speeds down Conrod Straight of about 230km per hour. The 86 race cars will be based on the GT and GTS manual with controlled key specifications to ensure suitability and reliability, while keeping costs as low as possible.

Sign up to race

Want to join the action and compete in the T86RS for a share of the $150,000 prize pool?
Contact us to find out more.

Phil Harrison
AirTime Autosport
Email: phil@airtimeautosport.com

2018 Competitors

In 2018 we have a record 39 Season Entries, with eleven new competitors and ten of those drivers under the age of 21.

Entering the competition this year, we have a good spread of young guys moving up from karting – confirming that this is an affordable grassroots motorsport category.

2018 Invited Drivers

Our very successful program of invited drivers will continue, teaching racecraft as well as the off-track side of the business. In 2017, we expanded the mentor role with one driver nominated for each race.

In 2018, we take that a step further with the appointment of one experienced mentor for the entire season – Bathurst 1000 winner Jason Bargwanna.

Jason has 400 races under his belt in over 13 Supercars seasons plus two NZ touring-car championships – and he still competes over there in a V8-powered Toyota Camry.

As someone who’s been in charge of driver standards for Supercars, he’s the perfect choice to provide off-track advice to Australia’s future racing champions, watching over them as they develop.

We will also have a number of new invited drivers to take the track this year.
These include:

  • reigning Bathurst champion Luke Youlden;
  • one of Australia's best internationally credentialed drivers, Jason Bright; and
  • multiple championship winner Chris Pither.

The Series will also see the return of invited drivers including Jonathan Webb, Leanne Tander, Warren Luff, Steve Owen and rising star Harry Bates.

Back to Top